The Framing of the Great Recession

Families Are Evicted From Homes As Economic Crisis Worsens by John Moore/Getty Images

From their website:

An invited panel will discuss the images of the great recession in the United States and Europe. The Salon includes photographers who have been covering the recession in depth and academics specializing in the visual rhetoric of poverty and social welfare.

Date: Sunday, October 16th

Time: 10 am PST/ 1 pm EST / 6pm GMT (running for 90 minutes)

Location: Online Webinar – http://bit.ly/BagNewsSalon

If you have not used Open-i and Wimba before, they strongly urge you to arrive to the salon 15 minute early so you can set up your computer with the platform. There is a simple setup wizard accessible from the login page that will walk you through this process. Wimba works well in Firefox and Safari once pop ups are enabled. It is not compatible with Chrome.

As a salon participant/observer, you can watch and hear the discussion between photographers, editors and others on the panel. You’re invited to type your comments and read those of others in real time. All comments are seen throughout and may be addressed by those on the panel. Towards the end of the live salon, anyone typing/observing will be invited to talk directly with panelists.

Advertisements

About mcgillmedia

I take pictures and teach other people how to do it, too.
This entry was posted in Photography, scholarship and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s