Flying Short Course

Last weekend I was at NPPA’s Flying Short Course in Boiling Springs, NC. I was there to volunteer, and I ended up shuttling faculty members in from the Charlotte airport. This was great chance to get to know some talented photographers. However, I discovered there is a *severe* gasoline shortage in Charlotte. I was draining my tank, and I had to wait in line to refill. Actually, it worked out great because my riders were a captive audience.

Dave Honl was at the workshop to teach lighting. So while I’m pumping gas, I grilled him about his latest trip to Kazakhstan– a place I’d love to go.

I love Honl’s super-small lighting kit. Everything including strobes, stands and modifiers, fit in a small backpack. And I love the gadgets his company makes. His technique is very simple, all the more reason to watch his demos and go out and play.

Speaking of gear, Canon brought their newest camera to the show. The FSC was the first public viewing of the EOS 5D Mark II. This amazing SLR records HD video. See me trying it out on Bob Carey’s blog.

Denise and Canon 5D Mark II

Denise and Canon 5D Mark II

About mcgillmedia

I take pictures and teach other people how to do it, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

