Skimming the Surface

Paddling in Grand Teton Nat'l Park

Paddling in Grand Tetons Natl Park

Blogging Assignment: Post a photo, and discuss how and why you took it. What are the strongest aspects of the image?

When most people travel, they collect souvenirs like magnets or t-shirts. I collect photos of my toes wherever I go. This landscape photo was taken a couple weeks ago in Wyoming. My dad, some cousins and I had paddled up a chain of high-mountain lakes to our campsite. The view was stunning. The next day, Dad and I wanted a closer look at the hills, so we headed out on our boat.

I took this image with my handy-dandy Olympus Stylus 850SW, the waterproof point-and-shoot I picked up a few months ago. It was perfect for this trip. I could pull it out anytime–in the rain, in the boat, out for a swim.

I think the image works because of the symmetrical composition. The reflections cut the photo in half lengthwise, and the tip of the canoe cuts it nearly in half vertically. The content was so beautiful, it was hard NOT to take a great photo there. This picture also has a lot of personal value to me, because it reminds me of a father-daughter trip I’ll never forget.

About mcgillmedia

I take pictures and teach other people how to do it, too.
This entry was posted in Photography, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

